The Scaling Seeds and Technologies Partnership: Opportunities for collaboration with N2Africa

Display start
Display end
Newsletter #
Newsletter item #
News homepage item #

On July 1, 2013 USAID and the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA) announced the Scaling Seeds and Technologies Partnership (SSTP) in Africa, a $47 million, four-year partnership intended to accelerate smallholder farmer access to transformative agricultural technologies.

SSTP is accelerating the adoption of high-yield crop varieties and complementary technologies by smallholder farmers in Africa in support of the New Alliance for Food Security and Nutrition, a shared commitment of African leaders, private sector partners, and donor governments to lift millions out of poverty over the next decade.

SSTP is working in six countries - Ethiopia, Ghana, Malawi, Mozambique, Senegal and Tanzania - that have joined the New Alliance for Food Security and Nutrition where we will help governments strengthen their seed sectors and promote the commercialization, distribution and adoption of quality seeds of superior varieties and complementary technologies including blended fertilizers and rhizobium inoculation. SSTP aims to increase production of quality seeds by 45 percent in four years and ensure that 40 percent more farmers gain access to innovative agricultural technologies.

SSTP investments will be guided by Roadmaps developed after after widespread in-country consultations that outline the specific technologies and areas where SSTP intends to support scaling. These Roadmaps will be the basis for soliciting proposals from interested parties and awarding grants for innovative ideas that will contribute towards achieving our targets and that will catalyze further investments beyond the life of the project. SSTP is particularly interested to scale up the adoption of legumes and complementary technologies developed by N2Africa and its partners. Further information can be obtained from our Country Coordinators:

Ethiopia, Yonas Sahlu:

Ghana, Isaac Asare:

Malawi, Geoffrey Kananji:

Mozambique, Anabela Manhica:

Senegal, Abdou Ndiaye:

Tanzania, Vianey Rweyendela:

Richard Jones